Week 12 – Ethnography

IMG_1595This week’s assignment was pretty interesting.  We were told to go one night without using any electrical devices.  I chose Thursday night for this.  As someone who lives in a modern society, it’s really strange to withhold from using electronics.  We use them all the time without even thinking about it.  This makes it especially difficult to do a challenge like this.  While doing this, I found myself having to stop from doing what would be considered basic things because they use electricity in one way or another.  The first hiccup that I ran into was how to prepare food.  I had to refrain from using things in the refrigerator because that requires using an electrical device.  So I had to settle for something simple.  I made myself a peanut butter and banana sandwich for dinner.  This didn’t bug me because that’s one of my favorite sandwiches.  It was just a little odd having it for dinner.

Luckily I have plenty of candles so that wasn’t too much of an issue.  However, I’m so used to using electronics like my phone to unwind at night that it felt really strange not having them.  I decided to read instead.  The book I’m reading right now is Ender’s Game.  It’s just a little difficult to read by candlelight.  There’s not too much more to say other than that because afterwards I went to bed.   I think it’s good to do this occasionally because it really puts it into perspective how much we use electronics.

Leave a Reply

